Blogging as an Artifact of Thought

My apologies for my truancy as of late, as well as for the poor quality of this post. Life has rained down upon me the last while, robbing me of the desire to spend what little free time I have on this blog.
I have also been busy getting my small but wonderful English 12 class up and running with blogs. So far, the response seems positive.
Enough self pity…

I was over at the “blog of proximal development? the other day, and found a post that got my mental fires burning:

Provisional and Tentative By Konrad Glogowski

I don’t keep this blog to churn out polished articles. When I sat down one hour ago to write, it was not with the intention to keep posting. I don’t write merely to publish things on my blog. I publish them on my blog because that is how I think. Writing is my cognitive tool. None of the entries on the blog of proximal development are complete. They are attempts at understanding, they are provisional, tentative. This is, after all, a record of my engagement with ideas. It is not a collection of polished, published pieces. (Glogowski)

My students need to read this. It seems we have a fear of publishing on that ether that is the net. We have to commit to what we are saying, but I agree with Glogowski that the post need not be a complete or perfect thing. It is an artifact, or a snapshot of where we are at in our learning at a specific moment in time. The joy of blogging, then, is that the blog is a fluid tool with which we continually give evidence of our thoughts.

I will move on knowing that I had spent one hour thinking about things that are important to me and that I had done my best trying to write myself into a better understanding of my own thoughts. (Glogowski)

Yes! Writing as a means of thinking. This is what I want my students to see! It is an exploration. As Glogowski says, even if you don’t post, you have spent time on something meaningful. We need to try to understand our thoughts and feelings. Just because they are ours does not mean we understand them.

“In other words, I just spent one hour thinking. That is exactly why I want my students to have blogs. That is precisely why I want them to write? (Glogowski)

Leave a Reply

